Kingscliff High School logo

Kingscliff High School

Kingscliff High School

Achievement through Endeavour

Telephone02 6674 9777

Emailkingscliff-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Welfare

The purpose of this information is to assist in keeping you and your family safe, happy and purposeful during the remote schooling phase of learning at Kingscliff High School. This is a time of change and uncertainty and we understand that this is a challenging time in the world and there will always be difficulties when exploring new systems and processes.

We encourage parents/carers to talk with your young person/child about the importance of getting information from trusted sources like government websites and draw their attention to the facts around the outbreak rather than the media coverage. It is highly probable that your child will display a range of emotions during this time. It is important that you support them to express their emotions so they feel listened to and validated.

The Be You website offers guidance on helping children and young people self-regulate their emotions  https://beyou.edu.au/fact-sheets/social-and-emotional-learning/self-regulation. This website also provides information on wellbeing tools https://beyou.edu.au/resources/tools-and-guides/wellbeing-tools-for-you and smiling minds https://www.smilingmind.com.au/ assists with practicing mindfulness which can help with stress management.

The Beyond Blue website provides more information on how to look after yourself and your family during the corona virus outbreak  https://www.beyondblue.org.au/the-facts/looking-after-your-mental-health-during-the-coronavirus-outbreak. This Kids Helpline also have a specific section of their website for teens and COVID https://kidshelpline.com.au/coronavirus.  More services are located under the heading ‘ Resources and supports for families during remote learning' in the document below.

Our Kingscliff High School Welfare team is available to consult via email. The Wellbeing Team consists of the Head Teacher Welfare, Wellbeing Coordinator, Learning and Support Teachers, Year Advisers, the Aboriginal Education Officer, School Counsellors and School Learning and Support Officers.

All of these staff members listed will be making regular outreach calls to families during these unprecedent times to check in on wellbeing and learning. The hours of communication with school staff are from 8.45am until 3.15pm.

Contact details for our Welfare team:

Year Advisers (first point of contact)

Year 7: Ariana Mann Ariana.Mann@det.nsw.edu.au
Year 8 : Scott Ella SCOTT.ELLA@det.nsw.edu.au
Year 9: Nellie Hedjuk nellie.hejduk@det.nsw.edu.au
Year 10: Eden Hill eden.conklin2@det.nsw.edu.au
Year 11: Karen Levi KAREN.LEVI@det.nsw.edu.au
Year 12: Wade Colpitts Wade.Colpitts@det.nsw.edu.au
Aboriginal Education Officer Midge Beam Rosina.Beam@det.nsw.edu.au
Wellbeing Coordinator Kim Rodenburg Kim.Mitchell@det.nsw.edu.au
Head Teacher Welfare Michelle Watego michelle.watego@det.nsw.edu.au
Head Teacher Inclusive Education Michelle Rosser Michelle.Wallace3@det.nsw.edu.au
Deputy Principal (Years 8, 10, 12) Damien Borg kingscliff-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au
Deputy Principal (Years 7, 9, 11) Daniel Matthias kingscliff-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au